This website uses cookies

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to analyse our traffic.
Advertising and analytics partners may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to
them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services

Accept Decline

Nurburgring F1 Grand Prix
races and statistics on Nurburgring F1 circuit

Nurburgring F1 Grand Prix



The winner started from pole in 15 racess. In 8 occasions of them the driver has had the fastest lap. In 1999 Johnny Herbert won the race after he started from position 14 (the lowest).

Consecutively wins: (3) Juan Manuel Fangio (2) Alberto Ascari, John Surtees, Michael Schumacher, Jacques Villeneuve

Top drivers : Michael Schumacher (5); Juan Manuel Fangio (3); Jackie Stewart (3);

Top teams : Ferrari (14); McLaren (5); Brabham (4);

Pole positions

Top drivers at grid Jim Clark (4); Michael Schumacher (3); Jacky Ickx (3);

Consecutively poles: (3) Alberto Ascari, Juan Manuel Fangio, Jim Clark (2) Jacky Ickx, Niki Lauda, Mark Webber

In 1952 Johnny Claes started the race from position 32 and finish on 10 (best jump).The worst finish was set by Lewis Hamilton in 2009 when he started from 5 and finish on 18.

Nurburgring fastest laps

SeasonDriverFastest lap
2001 Juan Pablo Montoya 1:17.205
1997 Heinz-Harald Frentzen 1:18.805
1998 Mika Hakkinen 1:20.450
1995 Michael Schumacher 1:21.180
1999 Mika Hakkinen 1:21.282

clossest time difference between 1st and 2nd position

1st placeDifference2nd placeDate
Rubens Barrichello Ferrari -00:00.294 Michael Schumacher Ferrari 23 Jun 2002
Jacques Villeneuve Williams -00:00.762 Michael Schumacher Ferrari 28 Apr 1996
Sebastian Vettel Red Bull -00:01.008 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 7 Jul 2013
Jackie Stewart Tyrrell -00:01.600 Francois Cevert Tyrrell 5 Aug 1973
Mika Hakkinen McLaren -00:02.212 Michael Schumacher Ferrari 27 Sep 1998

Heat maps

Starting grid / final race

bigest time difference between 1st and 2nd position

1st placeDifference2nd placeDate
Jackie Stewart Matra -04:03.200 Graham Hill Lotus 4 Aug 1968
Tony Brooks Vanwall -02:29.700 Roy Salvadori Cooper 3 Aug 1958
Carlos Reutemann Brabham -01:37.700 Jacques Laffite Frank Williams Racing Cars 3 Aug 1975
Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes -01:36.500 Jose Froilan Gonzalez Ferrari 1 Aug 1954
Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes -01:36.500 Mike Hawthorn Ferrari 1 Aug 1954

Nurburgring F1 victories and pole positions by seasons

Season Winner Pole position
2020 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Valtteri Bottas Mercedes
2013 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2011 Lewis Hamilton McLaren Mark Webber Red Bull
2009 Mark Webber Red Bull Mark Webber Red Bull
2007 Fernando Alonso McLaren Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
2006 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Fernando Alonso Renault
2005 Fernando Alonso Renault Nick Heidfeld Williams
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2003 Ralf Schumacher Williams Kimi Raikkonen McLaren
2002 Rubens Barrichello Ferrari Juan Pablo Montoya Williams
2001 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2000 Michael Schumacher Ferrari David Coulthard McLaren
1999 Johnny Herbert Stewart Heinz-Harald Frentzen Jordan
1998 Mika Hakkinen McLaren Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1997 Jacques Villeneuve Williams Mika Hakkinen McLaren
1996 Jacques Villeneuve Williams Damon Hill Williams
1995 Michael Schumacher Benetton David Coulthard Williams
1985 Michele Alboreto Ferrari Teo Fabi Toleman
1984 Alain Prost McLaren Nelson Piquet Brabham
1976 James Hunt McLaren James Hunt McLaren
1975 Carlos Reutemann Brabham Niki Lauda Ferrari
1974 Clay Regazzoni Ferrari Niki Lauda Ferrari
1973 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell Jackie Stewart Tyrrell
1972 Jacky Ickx Ferrari Jacky Ickx Ferrari
1971 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell Jackie Stewart Tyrrell
1969 Jacky Ickx Brabham Jacky Ickx Brabham
1968 Jackie Stewart Matra Jacky Ickx Ferrari
1967 Denny Hulme Brabham Jim Clark Lotus
1966 Jack Brabham Brabham Jim Clark Lotus
1965 Jim Clark Lotus Jim Clark Lotus
1964 John Surtees Ferrari John Surtees Ferrari
1963 John Surtees Ferrari Jim Clark Lotus
1962 Graham Hill BRM Dan Gurney Porsche
1961 Stirling Moss Lotus Phil Hill Ferrari
1958 Tony Brooks Vanwall Mike Hawthorn Ferrari
1957 Juan Manuel Fangio Maserati Juan Manuel Fangio Maserati
1956 Juan Manuel Fangio Ferrari Juan Manuel Fangio Ferrari
1954 Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes
1953 Giuseppe Farina Ferrari Alberto Ascari Ferrari
1952 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Alberto Ascari Ferrari
1951 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Alberto Ascari Ferrari