This website uses cookies

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to analyse our traffic.
Advertising and analytics partners may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to
them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services

Accept Decline

Silverstone F1 Grand Prix
races and statistics on Silverstone F1 circuit

Silverstone F1 Grand Prix



The winner started from pole in 22 racess. In 12 occasions of them the driver has had the fastest lap. In 1975 Emerson Fittipaldi won the race after he started from position 7 (the lowest).

Consecutively wins: (4) Lewis Hamilton (3) Jim Clark (2) Alberto Ascari, Jackie Stewart, Alain Prost, Nigel Mansell, Jacques Villeneuve, David Coulthard

Top drivers : Lewis Hamilton (8); Alain Prost (5); Nigel Mansell (3);

Top teams : Ferrari (15); McLaren (12); Williams (8);

Pole positions

Top drivers at grid Lewis Hamilton (7); Damon Hill (3); Nigel Mansell (3);

Consecutively poles: (4) Lewis Hamilton (3) Jim Clark, Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill (2) Stirling Moss, Rene Arnoux, Mika Hakkinen, Fernando Alonso, Sebastian Vettel

In 1954 Roberto Mieres started the race from position 32 and finish on 6 (best jump).The worst finish was set by Michele Alboreto in 1988 when he started from 2 and finish on 17.

Silverstone fastest laps

SeasonDriverFastest lap
1987 Nigel Mansell 1:09.832
1985 Alain Prost 1:09.886
1990 Nigel Mansell 1:11.291
1989 Nigel Mansell 1:12.017
1983 Alain Prost 1:14.212

clossest time difference between 1st and 2nd position

1st placeDifference2nd placeDate
Carlos Sainz Ferrari +3.779s Sergio Perez Red Bull 3 Jul 2022
Max Verstappen Red Bull +3.798s Lando Norris McLaren 9 Jul 2023
Nico Rosberg Mercedes -00:00.765 Mark Webber Red Bull 30 Jun 2013
Mark Webber Red Bull -00:01.300 Lewis Hamilton McLaren 11 Jul 2010
David Coulthard McLaren -00:01.447 Mika Hakkinen McLaren 23 Apr 2000

Heat maps

Starting grid / final race

bigest time difference between 1st and 2nd position

1st placeDifference2nd placeDate
Juan Manuel Fangio Ferrari -1 lap Peter Collins Ferrari 14 Jul 1956
Jackie Stewart Matra -1 lap Jacky Ickx Brabham 19 Jul 1969
Alain Prost McLaren -1 lap Michele Alboreto Ferrari 21 Jul 1985
Emerson Fittipaldi McLaren -1 lap Carlos Pace Brabham 19 Jul 1975
Juan Manuel Fangio Ferrari -1 lap Alfonso de Portago Ferrari 14 Jul 1956

Silverstone F1 victories and pole positions by seasons

Season Winner Pole position
2023 Max Verstappen Red Bull Max Verstappen Red Bull
2022 Carlos Sainz Ferrari Carlos Sainz Ferrari
2021 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Max Verstappen Red Bull
2020 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2019 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Valtteri Bottas Mercedes
2018 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2017 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2016 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2015 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2014 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2013 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2012 Mark Webber Red Bull Fernando Alonso Ferrari
2011 Fernando Alonso Ferrari Mark Webber Red Bull
2010 Mark Webber Red Bull Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2009 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2008 Lewis Hamilton McLaren Heikki Kovalainen McLaren
2007 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2006 Fernando Alonso Renault Fernando Alonso Renault
2005 Juan Pablo Montoya McLaren Fernando Alonso Renault
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Kimi Raikkonen McLaren
2003 Rubens Barrichello Ferrari Rubens Barrichello Ferrari
2002 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Juan Pablo Montoya Williams
2001 Mika Hakkinen McLaren Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2000 David Coulthard McLaren Rubens Barrichello Ferrari
1999 David Coulthard McLaren Mika Hakkinen McLaren
1998 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Mika Hakkinen McLaren
1997 Jacques Villeneuve Williams Jacques Villeneuve Williams
1996 Jacques Villeneuve Williams Damon Hill Williams
1995 Johnny Herbert Benetton Damon Hill Williams
1994 Damon Hill Williams Damon Hill Williams
1993 Alain Prost Williams Alain Prost Williams
1992 Nigel Mansell Williams Nigel Mansell Williams
1991 Nigel Mansell Williams Nigel Mansell Williams
1990 Alain Prost Ferrari Nigel Mansell Ferrari
1989 Alain Prost McLaren Ayrton Senna McLaren
1988 Ayrton Senna McLaren Gerhard Berger Ferrari
1987 Nigel Mansell Williams Nelson Piquet Williams
1985 Alain Prost McLaren Keke Rosberg Williams
1983 Alain Prost Renault Rene Arnoux Ferrari
1981 John Watson McLaren Rene Arnoux Renault
1979 Clay Regazzoni Williams Alan Jones Williams
1977 James Hunt McLaren James Hunt McLaren
1975 Emerson Fittipaldi McLaren Tom Pryce Shadow
1973 Peter Revson McLaren Ronnie Peterson Lotus
1971 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell Clay Regazzoni Ferrari
1969 Jackie Stewart Matra Jochen Rindt Lotus
1967 Jim Clark Lotus Jim Clark Lotus
1965 Jim Clark Lotus Jim Clark Lotus
1963 Jim Clark Lotus Jim Clark Lotus
1960 Jack Brabham Cooper Jack Brabham Cooper
1958 Peter Collins Ferrari Stirling Moss Vanwall
1956 Juan Manuel Fangio Ferrari Stirling Moss Maserati
1954 Jose Froilan Gonzalez Ferrari Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes
1953 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Alberto Ascari Ferrari
1952 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Giuseppe Farina Ferrari
1951 Jose Froilan Gonzalez Ferrari Jose Froilan Gonzalez Ferrari
1950 Giuseppe Farina Alfa Romeo Giuseppe Farina Alfa Romeo