This website uses cookies

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to analyse our traffic.
Advertising and analytics partners may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to
them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services

Accept Decline

Most champions on a podium
Formula One facts and figures

Most champions on a podium

i About facts-figure section.

The first Formula1 race that had a champion on the podium took place in 1951, the very first of the season, when Giuseppe Farina, the 1950 champion, finished the race in third place.

In 1953 at Zandvoort we have the first race with two champions on the podium, Alberto Ascari the winner of the race and Giuseppe Farina in second place.

For a podium full of F1 champions we find the first time at Silverstone in 1953, three races away from the one with two champions on the podium. At Silverstone on the podium were Alberto Ascari, Juan Manuel Fangio and Giuseppe Farina.

Formula1 champions podiums timeline

11951-05-27BremgartenJuan Manuel Fangio (0)Piero Taruffi (0)Giuseppe Farina (1)
21953-06-07ZandvoortAlberto Ascari (1)Giuseppe Farina (1)Felice Bonetto (0)
31953-07-18SilverstoneAlberto Ascari (1)Juan Manuel Fangio (1)Giuseppe Farina (1)
41955-01-16Buenos AiresJuan Manuel Fangio (2)Giuseppe Farina (1)Umberto Maglioli (1)
51966-07-24ZandvoortJack Brabham (2)Graham Hill (1)Jim Clark (2)
61967-09-10MonzaJohn Surtees (1)Jack Brabham (3)Jim Clark (2)
81991-03-10PhoenixAyrton Senna (2)Alain Prost (3)Nelson Piquet (3)
102012-06-24ValenciaFernando Alonso (2)Kimi Raikkonen (1)Michael Schumacher (7)
112023-04-02MelbourneMax Verstappen (2)Lewis Hamilton (7)Fernando Alonso (2)

Apart from the first season, we have three more seasons in which we have no champion on the podium: 1958, 1959 and 1961. In three other seasons, 1979, 1980 and 1994, there was no champion on the podium in only one race.

None F1 champions on podium percentage by season

There are several F1 seasons in which at each race we have at least one champion on each podium: 2002, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2018. Only in 2002 we have only one champion on the podium in each race, namely Michael Schumacher, in the other seasons we have one or more champions on the podiums

In 30.1% we have no champion on the podium from the contested Formula1 races including Melbourne 2023.

About facts-figures section

All the articles in this section follow the statistical data.

In this section, I'm just trying to find some pattern from a statistical point of view compared to the results from Formula1.