This website uses cookies

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to analyse our traffic.
Advertising and analytics partners may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to
them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services

Accept Decline

Consecutive F1 seasons on podium
Formula One facts and figures

Consecutive F1 seasons on podium

i About facts-figure section.

After finishing on the podium in the first Formula1 season, Juan Manuel Fangio and Giuseppe Farina finished on the podium in the first race in 1951, being the first drivers to finish on the podium in consecutive seasons.

Also in 1951, Alberto Ascari achieved this performance by placing on the podium in the third race at Spa-Francochamps and Luigi Fagioli at Rheims.

Among the above, only Farina and Ascari managed to obtain a classification on the podium in 1952. Both obtained the podium in 1953, thus having four consecutive seasons, among them only Farina finished on the podium in 1954 and 1955 F1 seasons.

The record is held by Lewis Hamilton who, since his debut in 2007 and until 2023, managed to get a podium every season, reaching milestone 17. The next on the list is Michael Schumacher with 15 consecutive seasons on the podium and Sebastian Vettel with 14.

Top drivers with consecutives podiums

1.17Lewis Hamilton20072023
2.15Michael Schumacher19922006
3.14Sebastian Vettel20082021
4.12Nigel Mansell19811992
5.12Gerhard Berger19861997
6.12Fernando Alonso20032014
7.11Alain Prost19811991
8.10Ayrton Senna19841993
9.10David Coulthard19942003
10.10Ralf Schumacher19972006
11.9Jim Clark19601968
12.9Jackie Stewart19651973
13.9Nelson Piquet19801988
14.9Jean Alesi19901998
15.9Mika Hakkinen19932001
16.8Stirling Moss19541961
17.8Graham Hill19621969
18.8John Surtees19621969
19.8Jacky Ickx19681975
20.8Jacques Laffite19751982
21.8Michele Alboreto19821989
22.8Kimi Raikkonen20022009
23.8Valtteri Bottas20142021
24.8Max Verstappen20162023

Number of drivers having consecutive F1 podiums seasons by year

In the graph above, we have the number of drivers per year who managed to place on the podium in consecutive seasons, adding one unit for each season.

For example Fangio, although he was among the first in 1950 and 1951, will be present with a unit only from 1953 to 1957 when he had the most.

In the 1950 season we have 3 units, which correspond to Farina, Ascari and Fagioli.

From the list of drivers who had consecutive seasons on the podium in F1, only Fangio(5), Fagiolo(2), Karl Kling(2), Gunar Nilsson(2), Jackie Stewart(9), Jim Clark(9), Juan Pablo Montoya(6) and Hamilton(17) managed to get a podium in every season in which they started in Formula 1.

.. continue drivers with consecutives podiums

25.7Bruce McLaren19591965
26.7Rubens Barrichello19992005
27.6Giuseppe Farina19501955
28.6Richie Ginther19601965
29.6Chris Amon19671972
30.6Emerson Fittipaldi19701975
31.6James Hunt19731978
32.6Jody Scheckter19741979
33.6Patrick Depailler19741979
34.6Carlos Reutemann19771982
35.6Rene Arnoux19791984
36.6Damon Hill19931998
37.6Juan Pablo Montoya20012006
38.5Jose Froilan Gonzalez19511955
39.5Juan Manuel Fangio19531957
40.5Luigi Musso19541958
41.5Phil Hill19581962
42.5Dan Gurney19611965
43.5Jack Brabham19631967
44.5Denny Hulme19661970
45.5Niki Lauda19741978
46.5Alan Jones19771981
47.5Riccardo Patrese19801984
48.5Keke Rosberg19821986
49.5Eddie Irvine19951999
50.5Giancarlo Fisichella19972001
51.5Nick Heidfeld20052009
52.5Felipe Massa20062010
53.5Mark Webber20092013
54.5Nico Rosberg20122016
55.5Daniel Ricciardo20142018
56.5Charles Leclerc20192023
57.4Alberto Ascari19501953
58.4Jean Behra19551958
59.4Ronnie Peterson19711974
60.4John Watson19761979
61.4Mario Andretti19761979
62.4Patrick Tambay19821985
63.4Thierry Boutsen19871990
64.4Martin Brundle19921995
65.4Olivier Panis19941997
66.4Heinz-Harald Frentzen19972000
67.4Jenson Button20092012
68.4Carlos Sainz20192022
69.4Lando Norris20202023
70.4Sergio Perez20202023
71.3Luigi Villoresi19511953
72.3Mike Hawthorn19521954
73.3Peter Collins19561958
74.3Tony Brooks19571959
75.3Maurice Trintignant19581960
76.3Lorenzo Bandini19641966
77.3Jean-Pierre Beltoise19681970
78.3Jochen Rindt19681970
79.3Clay Regazzoni19701972
80.3Francois Cevert19711973
81.3Carlos Pace19731975
82.3Jochen Mass19751977
83.3Stefan Johansson19851987
84.3Alessandro Nannini19881990
85.3Johnny Herbert19951997
86.3Jacques Villeneuve19961998
87.3Jarno Trulli20032005
88.3Robert Kubica20082010
89.3Pierre Gasly20192021
90.3George Russell20212023
91.2Luigi Fagioli19501951
92.2Piero Taruffi19511952
93.2Sam Hanks19521953
94.2Bill Vukovich19531954
95.2Onofre Marimon19531954
96.2Karl Kling19541955
97.2Umberto Maglioli19541955
98.2Cesare Perdisa19551956
99.2Eugenio Castellotti19551956
100.2Harry Schell19571958
101.2Jimmy Bryan19571958
102.2Wolfgang von Trips19571958
103.2Jim Rathmann19591960
104.2Rodger Ward19591960
105.2Innes Ireland19601961
106.2Tony Maggs19621963
107.2Pedro Rodriguez19671968
108.2Jo Siffert19681969
109.2Peter Revson19721973
110.2Tom Pryce19751976
111.2Gunnar Nilsson19761977
112.2Gilles Villeneuve19781979
113.2Didier Pironi19791980
114.2Jean-Pierre Jabouille19791980
115.2Andrea de Cesaris19821983
116.2Eddie Cheever19821983
117.2Elio de Angelis19841985
118.2Mark Blundell19931994
119.2Heikki Kovalainen20072008
120.2Timo Glock20082009
121.2Romain Grosjean20122013
122.2Daniil Kvyat20152016
123.2Esteban Ocon20202021
About facts-figures section

All the articles in this section follow the statistical data.

In this section, I'm just trying to find some pattern from a statistical point of view compared to the results from Formula1.