This website uses cookies

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to analyse our traffic.
Advertising and analytics partners may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to
them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services

Accept Decline

Kyalami F1 Grand Prix
races and statistics on Kyalami F1 circuit

Kyalami F1 Grand Prix



The winner started from pole in 4 racess. In 3 occasions of them the driver has had the fastest lap. In 1973 Jackie Stewart won the race after he started from position 16 (the lowest).

Consecutively wins: (2) Niki Lauda, Nigel Mansell

Top drivers : Niki Lauda (3); Alain Prost (2); Nigel Mansell (2);

Top teams : Ferrari (4); Williams (3); Brabham (3);

Pole positions

Top drivers at grid Jackie Stewart (3); Nigel Mansell (2); Niki Lauda (2);

Consecutively poles: (3) Jackie Stewart (2) James Hunt, Jean-Pierre Jabouille, Nigel Mansell

In 1993 Michele Alboreto started the race from position 25 and finish on 9 (best jump).The worst finish was set by Niki Lauda in 1974 when he started from 1 and finish on 16.

Kyalami fastest laps

SeasonDriverFastest lap
1982 Alain Prost 1:08.278
1985 Keke Rosberg 1:08.419
1984 Patrick Tambay 1:08.877
1983 Nelson Piquet 1:09.948
1980 Rene Arnoux 1:13.150

clossest time difference between 1st and 2nd position

1st placeDifference2nd placeDate
Ronnie Peterson Lotus -00:00.466 Patrick Depailler Tyrrell 4 Mar 1978
Niki Lauda Ferrari -00:01.300 James Hunt McLaren 6 Mar 1976
Gilles Villeneuve Ferrari -00:03.420 Jody Scheckter Ferrari 3 Mar 1979
Jody Scheckter Tyrrell -00:03.740 Carlos Reutemann Brabham 1 Mar 1975
Niki Lauda Ferrari -00:05.200 Jody Scheckter Wolf 5 Mar 1977

Heat maps

Starting grid / final race

bigest time difference between 1st and 2nd position

1st placeDifference2nd placeDate
Alain Prost Williams -01:19.824 Ayrton Senna McLaren 14 Mar 1993
Niki Lauda McLaren -01:05.950 Alain Prost McLaren 7 Apr 1984
Rene Arnoux Renault -00:34.070 Jacques Laffite Ligier 1 Mar 1980
Carlos Reutemann Brabham -00:33.940 Jean-Pierre Beltoise BRM 30 Mar 1974
Pedro Rodriguez Cooper -00:26.400 John Love Cooper 2 Jan 1967

Kyalami F1 victories and pole positions by seasons

Season Winner Pole position
1993 Alain Prost Williams Alain Prost Williams
1992 Nigel Mansell Williams Nigel Mansell Williams
1985 Nigel Mansell Williams Nigel Mansell Williams
1984 Niki Lauda McLaren Nelson Piquet Brabham
1983 Riccardo Patrese Brabham Patrick Tambay Ferrari
1982 Alain Prost Renault Rene Arnoux Renault
1980 Rene Arnoux Renault Jean-Pierre Jabouille Renault
1979 Gilles Villeneuve Ferrari Jean-Pierre Jabouille Renault
1978 Ronnie Peterson Lotus Niki Lauda Brabham
1977 Niki Lauda Ferrari James Hunt McLaren
1976 Niki Lauda Ferrari James Hunt McLaren
1975 Jody Scheckter Tyrrell Carlos Pace Brabham
1974 Carlos Reutemann Brabham Niki Lauda Ferrari
1973 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell Denny Hulme McLaren
1972 Denny Hulme McLaren Jackie Stewart Tyrrell
1971 Mario Andretti Ferrari Jackie Stewart Tyrrell
1970 Jack Brabham Brabham Jackie Stewart March
1969 Jackie Stewart Matra Jack Brabham Brabham
1968 Jim Clark Lotus Jim Clark Lotus
1967 Pedro Rodriguez Cooper Jack Brabham Brabham