This website uses cookies

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to analyse our traffic.
Advertising and analytics partners may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to
them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services

Accept Decline

Watkins Glen F1 Grand Prix
races and statistics on Watkins Glen F1 circuit

Watkins Glen F1 Grand Prix

Watkins Glen


The winner started from pole in 10 racess. In 5 occasions of them the driver has had the fastest lap. In 1961 Innes Ireland won the race after he started from position 8 (the lowest).

Consecutively wins: (3) Graham Hill (2) Jim Clark, James Hunt

Top drivers : Jim Clark (3); Graham Hill (3); Carlos Reutemann (2);

Top teams : Lotus (7); BRM (3); Ferrari (3);

Pole positions

Top drivers at grid Graham Hill (3); Jim Clark (3); Mario Andretti (2);

Consecutively poles: (2) Jackie Stewart, James Hunt

In 1972 Ronnie Peterson started the race from position 26 and finish on 4 (best jump).The worst finish was set by Peter Revson in 1972 when he started from 2 and finish on 18.

Watkins Glen fastest laps

SeasonDriverFastest lap
1970 Jacky Ickx 1:02.740
1969 Jochen Rindt 1:04.340
1968 Jackie Stewart 1:05.220
1967 Graham Hill 1:06.000
1966 John Surtees 1:09.670

clossest time difference between 1st and 2nd position

1st placeDifference2nd placeDate
Ronnie Peterson Lotus -00:00.668 James Hunt March 7 Oct 1973
James Hunt McLaren -00:02.026 Mario Andretti Lotus 2 Oct 1977
Alan Jones Williams -00:04.210 Carlos Reutemann Williams 5 Oct 1980
Innes Ireland Lotus -00:04.300 Dan Gurney Porsche 8 Oct 1961
Niki Lauda Ferrari -00:04.943 Emerson Fittipaldi McLaren 5 Oct 1975

Heat maps

Starting grid / final race

bigest time difference between 1st and 2nd position

1st placeDifference2nd placeDate
Jim Clark Lotus -1 lap Jochen Rindt Cooper 2 Oct 1966
Gilles Villeneuve Ferrari -00:48.787 Rene Arnoux Renault 7 Oct 1979
Jochen Rindt Lotus -00:46.990 Piers Courage Brabham 5 Oct 1969
Francois Cevert Tyrrell -00:40.062 Jo Siffert BRM 3 Oct 1971
Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus -00:36.390 Pedro Rodriguez BRM 4 Oct 1970

Watkins Glen F1 victories and pole positions by seasons

Season Winner Pole position
1980 Alan Jones Williams Bruno Giacomelli Alfa Romeo
1979 Gilles Villeneuve Ferrari Alan Jones Williams
1978 Carlos Reutemann Ferrari Mario Andretti Lotus
1977 James Hunt McLaren James Hunt McLaren
1976 James Hunt McLaren James Hunt McLaren
1975 Niki Lauda Ferrari Niki Lauda Ferrari
1974 Carlos Reutemann Brabham Carlos Reutemann Brabham
1973 Ronnie Peterson Lotus Ronnie Peterson Lotus
1972 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell Jackie Stewart Tyrrell
1971 Francois Cevert Tyrrell Jackie Stewart Tyrrell
1970 Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus Jacky Ickx Ferrari
1969 Jochen Rindt Lotus Jochen Rindt Lotus
1968 Jackie Stewart Matra Mario Andretti Lotus
1967 Jim Clark Lotus Graham Hill Lotus
1966 Jim Clark Lotus Jack Brabham Brabham
1965 Graham Hill BRM Graham Hill BRM
1964 Graham Hill BRM Jim Clark Lotus
1963 Graham Hill BRM Graham Hill BRM
1962 Jim Clark Lotus Jim Clark Lotus
1961 Innes Ireland Lotus Jack Brabham Cooper