This website uses cookies

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to analyse our traffic.
Advertising and analytics partners may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to
them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services

Accept Decline

Osterreichring F1 Grand Prix
races and statistics on Osterreichring F1 circuit

Osterreichring F1 Grand Prix



The winner started from pole in 4 racess. In 3 occasions of them the driver has had the fastest lap. In 1977 Alan Jones won the race after he started from position 14 (the lowest).

Consecutively wins: (2) Alain Prost

Top drivers : Alain Prost (3); Ronnie Peterson (2); Alan Jones (2);

Top teams : Lotus (4); McLaren (3); Williams (2);

Pole positions

Top drivers at grid Nelson Piquet (3); Niki Lauda (3); Rene Arnoux (3);

Consecutively poles: (3) Rene Arnoux (2) Emerson Fittipaldi, Niki Lauda

In 1970 Pedro Rodriguez started the race from position 22 and finish on 4 (best jump).The worst finish was set by Rene Arnoux in 1980 when he started from 1 and finish on 9.

Osterreichring fastest laps

SeasonDriverFastest lap
1987 Nigel Mansell 1:28.318
1985 Alain Prost 1:29.241
1986 Gerhard Berger 1:29.444
1980 Rene Arnoux 1:32.530
1984 Niki Lauda 1:32.882

clossest time difference between 1st and 2nd position

1st placeDifference2nd placeDate
Elio de Angelis Lotus -00:00.050 Keke Rosberg Williams 15 Aug 1982
Jacky Ickx Ferrari -00:00.700 Clay Regazzoni Ferrari 16 Aug 1970
Jean-Pierre Jabouille Renault -00:00.820 Alan Jones Williams 17 Aug 1980
Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus -00:01.180 Denny Hulme McLaren 13 Aug 1972
Jo Siffert BRM -00:04.120 Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus 15 Aug 1971

Heat maps

Starting grid / final race

bigest time difference between 1st and 2nd position

1st placeDifference2nd placeDate
Alain Prost McLaren -1 lap Michele Alboreto Ferrari 17 Aug 1986
Nigel Mansell Williams -00:55.704 Nelson Piquet Williams 16 Aug 1987
Ronnie Peterson Lotus -00:47.440 Patrick Depailler Tyrrell 13 Aug 1978
Carlos Reutemann Brabham -00:42.920 Denny Hulme McLaren 18 Aug 1974
Alan Jones Williams -00:36.050 Gilles Villeneuve Ferrari 12 Aug 1979

Osterreichring F1 victories and pole positions by seasons

Season Winner Pole position
1987 Nigel Mansell Williams Nelson Piquet Williams
1986 Alain Prost McLaren Teo Fabi Benetton
1985 Alain Prost McLaren Alain Prost McLaren
1984 Niki Lauda McLaren Nelson Piquet Brabham
1983 Alain Prost Renault Patrick Tambay Ferrari
1982 Elio de Angelis Lotus Nelson Piquet Brabham
1981 Jacques Laffite Talbot Rene Arnoux Renault
1980 Jean-Pierre Jabouille Renault Rene Arnoux Renault
1979 Alan Jones Williams Rene Arnoux Renault
1978 Ronnie Peterson Lotus Ronnie Peterson Lotus
1977 Alan Jones Shadow Niki Lauda Ferrari
1976 John Watson Penske James Hunt McLaren
1975 Vittorio Brambilla March Niki Lauda Ferrari
1974 Carlos Reutemann Brabham Niki Lauda Ferrari
1973 Ronnie Peterson Lotus Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus
1972 Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus
1971 Jo Siffert BRM Jo Siffert BRM
1970 Jacky Ickx Ferrari Jochen Rindt Lotus