Zandvoort F1 Grand Prix
races and statistics on Zandvoort F1 circuit

Zandvoort F1 Grand Prix

Zandvoort facts


The winner started from pole in 12 racess. In 3 occasions of them the driver has had the fastest lap. In 1985 Niki Lauda won the race after he started from position 10 (the lowest).

Consecutively wins: (3) Jim Clark (2) James Hunt, Jackie Stewart, Alberto Ascari

Top drivers : Jim Clark (4); Jackie Stewart (3); Niki Lauda (3);

Top teams : Ferrari (8); Lotus (6); McLaren (3);

Pole positions

Top drivers at grid Rene Arnoux (3); Niki Lauda (2); Alberto Ascari (2);

Consecutively poles: (2) Jochen Rindt, Rene Arnoux, Alberto Ascari, Niki Lauda, Mario Andretti

In 1981 Eliseo Salazar started the race from position 24 and finish on 6 (best jump).The worst finish was set by Jody Scheckter in 1975 when he started from 4 and finish on 16.

Top drivers« » Top teams

Fastest laps

SeasonDriverFastest lap
1985 Alain Prost 1:16.538
1970 Jacky Ickx 1:19.230
1980 Rene Arnoux 1:19.350
1979 Gilles Villeneuve 1:19.430
1984 Rene Arnoux 1:19.465

clossest time difference between 1st and 2nd position

1st placeDifference2nd placeDate
Niki Lauda McLaren -00:00.232 Alain Prost McLaren 25 Aug 1985
Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes -00:00.300 Stirling Moss Mercedes 19 Jun 1955
Mario Andretti Lotus -00:00.320 Ronnie Peterson Lotus 27 Aug 1978
Wolfgang von Trips Ferrari -00:00.900 Phil Hill Ferrari 22 May 1961
James Hunt McLaren -00:00.920 Clay Regazzoni Ferrari 29 Aug 1976

bigest time difference between 1st and 2nd position

1st placeDifference2nd placeDate
Jack Brabham Brabham -1 lap Graham Hill BRM 24 Jul 1966
Jim Clark Lotus -1 lap Dan Gurney Brabham 23 Jun 1963
Jackie Stewart Matra -01:33.930 Jean-Pierre Beltoise Matra 23 Jun 1968
Jim Clark Lotus -00:53.600 John Surtees Ferrari 24 May 1964
Stirling Moss Vandervell -00:47.900 Harry Schell Owen Racing Organisation 26 May 1958

F1 seasons

Season Winner Pole position
1985 Niki Lauda McLaren Nelson Piquet Brabham
1984 Alain Prost McLaren Alain Prost McLaren
1983 Rene Arnoux Ferrari Nelson Piquet Brabham
1982 Didier Pironi Ferrari Rene Arnoux Renault
1981 Alain Prost Renault Alain Prost Renault
1980 Nelson Piquet Brabham Rene Arnoux Renault
1979 Alan Jones Williams Rene Arnoux Renault
1978 Mario Andretti Lotus Mario Andretti Lotus
1977 Niki Lauda Ferrari Mario Andretti Lotus
1976 James Hunt McLaren Ronnie Peterson March
1975 James Hunt Hesketh Niki Lauda Ferrari
1974 Niki Lauda Ferrari Niki Lauda Ferrari
1973 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell Ronnie Peterson Lotus
1971 Jacky Ickx Ferrari Jacky Ickx Ferrari
1970 Jochen Rindt Lotus Jochen Rindt Lotus
1969 Jackie Stewart Matra Jochen Rindt Lotus
1968 Jackie Stewart Matra Chris Amon Ferrari
1967 Jim Clark Lotus Graham Hill Lotus
1966 Jack Brabham Brabham Jack Brabham Brabham
1965 Jim Clark Lotus Graham Hill BRM
1964 Jim Clark Lotus Dan Gurney Brabham
1963 Jim Clark Lotus Jim Clark Lotus
1962 Graham Hill BRM John Surtees Lola
1961 Wolfgang von Trips Ferrari Phil Hill Ferrari
1960 Jack Brabham Cooper Stirling Moss Rob Walker Racing
1959 Jo Bonnier Owen Racing Organisation Jo Bonnier Owen Racing Organisation
1958 Stirling Moss Vandervell Stuart Lewis-Evans Vandervell
1955 Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes
1953 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Alberto Ascari Ferrari
1952 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Alberto Ascari Ferrari